Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

Can Blood Testing for Hormone Imbalance be just as Effective?

Hey everyone!

I am new to this process and a bit overwhelmed to say the least! I want to get tested for a hormone imbalance. I have a bunch of health issues, tuberous breast, and when I have previously taken a blood test for my hormones years ago it indicated my progesterone levels were 3x the normal amount! I have been on a lot of medications growing up, antibiotics, birth control to try to lighten heavy periods, I have a poor diet, I have ibs, and a lot of other things going on.

So my question: From doing some browsing on this site it seems the saliva testing is the preferred method for testing hormonal imbalances. Problem is I get free blood testing where I live, and the saliva testing is fairly expensive. Is there a way to use blood testing in a manner that would be equally as effective as the saliva testing? (ex. testing at certain times of the day/your cycle, testing a certain number of times and comparing the results, etc.)

Also, I plan on changing my diet dramatically (I need to start consistently eating healthy and make some other lifestyle changes, I have seen how an unhealthy lifestyle impacts my body and I need to change it). Will this not skew the test results?

I would appreciate any guidance. Thanks!

Hi. My opinion/experience is this. 
Heavy antibiotic use causes sibo aka ibs aka hormone imbalance. If the gut is in disarray so are the hormones. 
Blood tests are touted to be inaccurate. Saliva is more accurate (so they say) but advise with a functional med dr for the timing. 
I’m in perimenopause (genetic VERY early predisposition) however every blood test said  my hormones are perfectly in range.